1st Edition

1st Edition

India’s 1st and World’s Highest – Snow Marathan – was held on 26th March 2022 at Lahaul. The pioneer Snow Marathon Lahaul was held on the frozen landscape around the Chandra River at Sissu. The marathon saw participants from across the country, including from the armed forces and police. The runners and audience experienced long distance running like never before. There are only ten similar snow and ice marathons which take place on the planet and Snow Marathon Lahaul is the eleventh one and India’s first. What makes this marathon unique is its location – India, with all other snow and ice marathons taking place mostly in Europe or the Arctic Circle or in places like Siberia. Lahaul and Spiti is already well known for its unequalled landscapes, cultural richness, and monasteries, but Snow Marathon Lahaul has added one more fame factor to that list. The marathon was held at an average altitude of 11,000 ft offering four formats of running – 42 km, 21 km, 10 km and 5 km – open to all men, women and juniors. There was even a joy race of 1km inviting people to experience this pioneer event.

Organised by Reach India and supported by Lahaul and Spiti Administration, Snow Marathon Lahaul has been founded by Gaurav Schimar, who is a Himalayan and Adventure Specialist. The marathon has been consulted closely by Nakul Butta, a pioneer in long distance running. Saurav Schimer was the Race Director and Rajesh Chand was the event Execution Head. Snow Marathon will be a prestigious affair for any serious runner from across the globe and challenge involved is a notch higher than any existing format for Indian runners. Lahaul has been chosen for this extreme winter sports event as the valley remains covered with snow for most of the year. Snow Marathon Lahaul 2022 had Fortis Mohali as its vital Medical Partner and brands like Polaroid, Garmin, Bonn, Fitt Lounge, Save, Gopllay, Fast&Up and Woodland.

Winners of Snow Marathon Lahaul 2022

Full Marathon Men

  • Winner: Shashwat: 4:41:08
  • Runner Up: Baldev 6:01:55

Full Marathon Women

  • Winner: Tenzin Dolma: 5:05:30

Half Marathon Men

  • Winner: Rohan: 2:53:41
  • Runner Up: Pradeep: 2:59:25

Half Marathon Women

  • Winner: Deeksha: 2:59:47

10K Men

  • Winner: Kieren D'souza: 1:01:29
  • Runner Up: Daulat Ram: 1:04:53

10K Women

  • Winner: Hemlata: 1:20:47
  • Runner Up: Preeti Thakur: 1:23:52

5K Men

  • Winner: Naveneet: 28:45
  • Runner Up: Himmat: 31:25

5K Women

  • Winner: Shrishti: 43:21
  • Runner Up: Aiysha: 47:53

1K Men

  • Winner: Ram Chand: 12:02
  • Runner Up: Mehhar Chand: 13:33

1K Women

  • Winner: Anju: 15:00